Louise Culver's Science Classes

Science changing society…

March 13, 2015

EARTH SCIENCE:

–Warm Up: How was your week? How are your grades? What have you done well? What do you need to work on to be successful? What do you need to be focusing on next week?

–Whole Group: share answers to the Checking Up (p. 590)

Individuals finish:

–Individuals: “A Tornado is Born” Complete a fill- in-the-blank description of the way tornadoes form. Then, draw a story board showing the formation of a tornado.

à compare work in small groups *due at the end of class

–Tornado Quiz on Monday!

ENVIRONMENTAL:

Individual: Finish Comparing Ecosystems (rainforest, coral reef, desert)

Hook: What am I? The magic element for everything on Earth. I am in nearly every biological compound that makes up our bodies, systems, organs, cells, and organelles. There is some of me there every time you exhale. I have been know of and used for thousands of years. I was never really discovered. Ancient people knew that I was the black soot left over after a fire. I am the sixth element in the periodic table. I am very stable. Because, I am stable I can be found alone or in a naturally occurring compound. I am found in a pencil.

–Whole Group watch: That’s Why Carbon Is A Tramp: Crash Course Biology #1 (12:32)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnQe0xW_JY4 &

–Whole Group: Carbon & Nitrogen cycle à students take notes & complete diagrams or each cycle

Author: lhslculver

Earth Science teacher at Lakeland High School.

Comments are closed.